A God I Can Understand

While driving to work this morning, I thought about the many things about God and Biblical truth that I don’t really understand. Afterall, the Christian view of God shows us many truths that could be considered contradictions by the limited human mind.

God is love, yet He allows sinners to burn forever in hell. God is merciful and long suffering, yet He will punish unrepented sin and try our works with fire.

God gives us free will to make decisions, yet He orchestrates everything and His purposes will not be thwared. The heavens cannot contain the glory of God, yet He chose to put His Spirit inside the hearts of His people. God loved Job and found pleasure in him. But He allowed Satan to test him to the uttermost limits. God is the ultimate source of peace, yet He leads heathen kings into battle as His instruments of justice. I could go on and on.

The ways of God and the mysteries of the Word are too great for me to understand in my mind. God spoke universes into existence that I cannot even see. God set the foundations of the deep. God knows the very number of hairs on my head.

I don’t want to serve a God that I can fully understand. I agree with King David who wrote, “Lead me to the rock that is higher than I.” My soul takes comfort in that there is a life that is smarter and greater than me.

The mystery of God is part of what keeps me coming back for more. This sequel is worth it because each new revelation gets better and better. Part of my problem is that I try to understand a spiritual being in the realm of my mind.

Paul showed the futility of this when he wrote, “Now we have received, not the spirit of the world, but the spirit which is of God that we might know the things that are freely given to us of God. Which things also we speak, not in the words which man’s wisdom teacheth, but which the Holy Ghost teacheth comparing spiritual things with spiritual. But the natural man receiveth not the things of the Spirit of God: for they are foolishness unto him: neither can he know them, because they are spiritually discerned” (I Corinthians 2:12-14).

Leave a Reply

