Violent Grace

It can be real easy to lose the shear horror of the cross. The Passion of Christ captures it well. Sometimes it can be easy to disregard Jesus’ humanity because of His deity. I can get in the mindset that Jesus was just “pretending” to be human. This portrayal of Jesus’ final hours reveal how violent God’s grace really is.

I found myself relating to the pain, trial and struggle of many key characters including Peter, Judas, Mary, Pilate and the adulterous woman. The scenes with Judas really hit me. I thought about all the times that I had betrayed Christ with a kiss? I whisper praise and worship to him on Sunday while denying the cross the rest of the week. I think we all have a bit of Judas in us. But thank God, some of us end up like Peter. Although he messed up, he found forgiveness in the end.

The move is very graphic and violent. But so is reality. Much of what is in the Bible is R-rated.

As far as the movie goes, I would like to have seen more on the resurrection and the flashbacks with Jesus’ life and teaching. These scenes help us to identify with the radical nature of Christ’s message as well as the humanity of Jesus. The more human you can make Jesus, the greater impact the scenes of his scourging and death have on the audience. I was captivated and amazed the entire time.

Truly Jesus’ sacrifice on the cross is the greatest love story ever told.

Leave a Reply

