Doing the Work of God

After Jesus fed the crowd with five loaves of bread and two fish, the people questioned Jesus about His power source. They wanted to know how they could do the works of God.

Jesus said, “This is the work of God, that ye believe on him whom he hath sent.”

Wow! It really is quite simple. Our primary work is to believe upon the saving work of Jesus Christ. You may be thinking, ‘Yeah, so what! Everybody who is a Christian knows that.’ But as I look around at my life and the ministries that I am aware of, I see lots of man-made striving apart from faith.

I find the above verse to be a strong consolation to me. I am not God, and I never will be. I am not meant to take the worries of everything I see on my back. These things belong to God. As an intercessor and strong perceiver, I see lots of stuff that I would rather not see. But the entire reason that I see is so that I can pray.

When I feel too overwhelmed, I am obviously not praying enough or giving things up to God. I want to believe. Oh, God, help me with my unbelief.

Leave a Reply

