Salvation – A Change of the Heart not a Creed of the Mind

If you’re like me, you have stared at your image in the mirror before and wondered, “How do I know that I am really saved?” Usually, this happens after I sin or come to the realization of how bad the natural me really is. I look up and ask myself, “Why don’t I look like the Christians in the brochure?”

I have come to the realization that I had the wrong definition of salvation floating around in my mind. Salvation is a state of the heart not an intellectual ascent to a number of doctrines.

Just because you know where to fill in the blanks with the right answers doesn’t make you a Christian. There is a very big difference between knowing something and believing it. We may know something and still not put our trust in it. But if we believe it, we will be impacted by it.

The change of a heart may not be a real visible measuring stick. But kind of like being in love, you will know it when you see it.

How then do I know that I am a Christian? A sure sign of God changing a heart is the desire to know and please God. Not that I always do the right thing or want to hang out with God. Sometimes I run from God like a child running to hide under the covers. But a truly saved person will notice a change in his thoughts, desires and actions.

Hunger for righteousness points to a life where God has done some renovation. Righteousness should not be confused with good works. There are many non-Christians who want to do the right thing. Righteousness only comes from God as He works through us. A righteous man will desire to spend time with God that he can be like Him and do His works on the earth.

What does your heart tell you? No matter what you’ve done in the past. God can redeem it. Trust God and let Him confirm His work in your heart.

Leave a Reply

