Present Reality

Michael Card, my favorite musician, wrote a song called, “Know You in the Now.” It describes the struggle to know God in a world focused on what we can discover with our senses. The song unmasks the idolatry that has crept into modern Christianity. I listened to the song again today for the first time in a long time. I was struck by its raw simplicty and power.

Why does it seem to hard to know God in our present reality? God is not a character in a story book. God is active in the world today. He holds all things together and gives us each new day. Why has knowing God been relegated to religion, ceremony and obligation?

Where is the joy in knowing God? Here are the words to the song. May they impact you ask much as they have me.

Know You in the Know by Michael Card

Echo of history, a light so many strain to see

The One we talk so much about, but rarely ever live it out

Could You tell me why, was it for this You came and died?

A once a week observance, when we coldly mouth Your words

Chorus

Lord I long to see, Your presence in reality

But I don’t know how, let me know You in the now

We should confess, we lose You in our busyness

We’ve made You in our image, so our faith’s idolatry

Lord, deliver me, break my heart so I can see

All the ways You dwell in us, that You’re alive in me

Leave a Reply

