Wasting Away My Inheritance

A recurring fear that I deal with is the thought that one day our family business will go bankrupt. While everything is going well now, there are no guarantees that present performance will hold true in the future. I have no rational basis for my fear except the thought that things are going too well. One day my “luck” will have to run out…right?

God has blessed my family and our publishing business. God’s provision is the key to our success. Others might call it luck. I believe it is divine providence. And if God has taken us this far, why would He abandon us in the future? Even if the entire economy takes a turn for the worse, God will provide the necessities for His people. God fed the Israelites with quail ping out of the sky. Can’t He do something equally as spectacular today? Why should I worry?

The other day I sat in a business meeting where my parents discussed with a lawyer and financial planner the rough game plan for transitioning the ownership of the business to my brother and I. Listening to others talk about my earthly inheritance caused me to see how I had taken God’s promises for granted.

The lawyer and my father discussed the value of the company, investments and property which we would inherit. My brother and I will likely walk away with more than two million dollars apiece in assets. Suddenly, I thought, “I may one day be a millionaire.” While I don’t want my parents to be promoted to heaven any time soon, I am thankful that they have amassed value to pass along to me. And I have a responsibility to build it and pass it along to the next generation.

As I thought about the money, I began to feel like I had just won the lottery. I wondered how my life would change. Sure, most of the value is in assets. I will need to work. I can’t sit around and play golf all day long. But I will have advantages that they did not have. My inheritance is valuable to me. I treasure it as part of my family’s legacy – something that will last and be important for the future.

My thoughts began to shift to a more meaningful inheritance. God promises, “I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the end. I will give unto him that athirst of the fountain of the water of life freely. He that overcometh shall inherit all things and I will be his God, and he shall be my son” (Revelation 21:6-7).

Compared to what God offers those who overcome the temptations in this life, a couple of million dollars seems like pocket change. God offers us all things including the right to rule and reign with Him, position as princes and princesses in His kingdom, everlasting life, complete health, access to limitless riches, peace beyond comprehension and beauty beyond description. But there is a catch. The riches of God’s reward are reserved for overcomers.

Based on how many Christians live, including myself, we either have dim view of God’s riches or we don’t really take God at His word. How often have I thought about God’s reward for His faithful children as less desirable than the fare offered by the world in the moment?

All things is much better than my earthly inheritance from my father. But I tend to be more concerned about dollars in this life than boundless treasure in the life to come. Why do I struggle so much to understand the weight of God’s glory, kingdom and riches?

The Holy Spirit is showing me that I need to get a revelation of God’s promises. As I begin to really meditate on what God has promised, I will have a hard time ever being blasé about it ever again. Or then again, maybe not. It can be so easy to lose sight of eternity in the burden of the moment. More than a mortgage loan or any other financial obligation that I have, I owe God the most. Yet He offers me more and more if I will only listen, believe and obey.

Father, forgive me for wasting your gifts, calling, power and purposes. Help me to live in the moment by the light of eternity. May I value what You value. May I have a fresh revelation of Your promises and the riches that await those who live for Your glory. I believe in Your promises. Help my unbelief. I submit to Your power create a hunger and thirst for righteousness in my life that I may be filled. Amen!

Leave a Reply

