Disconnect

The other day, I met a woman on the street in Atlanta. She and her colleague were carrying boxes of hot Krispie Kreme dougnuts. [Side tangent, I love Krispie Kreme doughnuts.] The woman was dressed like she was going to work. I started up a conversation with her by asking, “Are you taking those to co-workers?” She responded that she was taking them to a potential client. She hoped the dougnuts would help develop goodwill with her contacts.

I told her that I would give her my business because I love doughnuts. She asked what I do. When I told her publishing, the woman said, “That’s a disconnect.” She explained that she offered legal services to large companies. And there is no real business opportunity for her with me. She was polite. But her interest in me was not as great as her interest in getting the new business. She was in business mode.

It is interesting how we could connect over something as simple as doughnuts. But when her higher priority (business) did not mesh with me, she was quick to move on to her target. We tend to have connect and disconnect points with others all the time. Identifying connection points is a critical thing for Christians who want to engage the culture around them.

While people are connected, there is a sense of oneness. Walls come down and people can openly share. But once a disconnect occurs, people tend to lose interest and walls go back up.

In order to be perceived as relevant, Christians must discover connect points and use them to engage the culture. Are you connected?

Leave a Reply

