This just in… The Holy Spirit Is God

While talking about prayer in a recent sermon, Mark Driscoll from Mars Hill in
Seattle said the following, “The Holy Spirit is not an intern. He doesn’t take orders. We can ask, but He will do what He wants to do.”
This made me laugh as I remember all the times that I have heard people talk to the Holy Spirit like he is one to take orders from us. We can’t boss God around, and the Holy Spirit is God. We can seek the Spirit’s help and intervention in a particular situation. The Spirit helps to guide us to the truth.

The above quote also made me cry as I remembered the times that I have treated God like He is a cosmic genie or ATM. It’s not as simple as say my wish and get what I want. I exist for God not the other way around.

Holy Spirit, please forgive me when I have not treated you with the respect and honor that you deserve. Guide me in my prayers. Help me to know how to keep in step with what you are doing. May my prayers be guided by you and in line with the will of the Father. May I have an ear to hear what you are saying to me. May I be slow to speak and quick to listen. Help me to seek first what you would have me pray and then release my faith in accordance with your Word. Amen!

Leave a Reply

