Trusting God

There are very few people who realize what God would make of them if they abandoned themselves into his hands, and let themselves be formed by his grace. I ask for the grace to trust myself totally to God’s love. -St. Ignatius

 

It can be hard to trust people who we do see. It can be even harder to trust a God that we cannot see face-to-face. Scripture tell us that without faith it is impossible to please God. We must believe that God exists and that He rewards those who diligently seek Him.

 

Faith and trust are intertwined. I don’t know why I find it so easy to trust myself and so hard to really trust God. I know my failures and inabilities. And I claim to believe in God’s awesome power and love. Seeking to truly believe what I know to be true is one of the hardest aspects of the Christian life. Faith is truly a gift from God. We cannot muster enough courage on our own to really abandon all into God’s hands.

 

That is why the first steps of faith must begin with prayer and surrender. God will do the rest.

 

One response to “Trusting God

  1. It is 4:30 a.m., Jan.6th as I begin this (I’m always up quite early) As of this date I have been a Christian for more than 40 years and have gone through many stages of discipline and discovery, and have found that, as Solomon put it, ‘there is nothing new under the sun’. All I search and long for as I approach my 60th birthday this year is that with which He has sustained me these many years — the priviledge of loving Him more deeply, and intimately fellowshipping with Him as the lover of my soul. Your site gave me a place of human fellowship when I found it today, for you seem to me to be seeker of God, for Himself alone. I’ve only gone through a single topic to date, but was very impressed that there is much real truth here to be uncovered and explored. I plan to use it as part of my reference and thank you for your shared insights.

Leave a Reply

