All of Me

Last week I challenged a small group of middle and high school students who are part of the church’s youth band to try writing songs as they explore their worship relationship with God. I am not really a musician. And I had never tried to write a song myself. 

So I decided to give it a shot. This comes from a time in my life when I really struggled to accept God’s love, mercy and forgiveness. At times I still struggle with this as I am all too aware of my own shortcomings. But I am gaining victory each day as I learn to find my identity in Christ alone.

 Here’s the lyrics to the song.

 All of Me

Just as you found me, no need to put on a show. My life exposed before you – past, present and future. You know me completely and yet love all of me.

This seems too good to be true. How do I know that you aren’t like all the rest? My first response is to run. But some how the look in your eyes convice me that I can trust all of me to you.

At a loss for words, I cling to your side. Looking up, I find perfect love in your gaze. Affirmed forever, I have no need to hide. Your love covers all of me .

Setting me free to be who I have always wanted to be. Ever changing, all of me to look more like you.

Thank you, Jesus, for all you have done. These words don’t express what I feel inside. The only way that I can think of to thank you is to offer all of me to you.

Leave a Reply

