Frustration

“Any frustration that you have in your life is a sign of an area where you are still trying to control and have not completely yielded to God.”  –  Rev. Don Coleman

The above quote hit me right between the eyes when I heard it yesterday. My good friend and spiritual mentor, Rev. Don Coleman said the above statement to me while we talked on the phone yesterday.

Frustration has accurately described a number of facets in my life over the past year or so. Some areas have improved. Others remain frustration. It’s kind of like being able to see where you want to go; you just can’t tell how to get there. That describes how I have felt about some situations.

Don was encouraging me to let go and let God move in those areas. While I agree with his statements, his advice can be easier said than done. I find that I tend to give things to God and then pick them up again.

I have to come to the point where I trust God more than my ability to control situations. Control seems to be mostly an illusion any way. Many things in life are beyond our control. We can control how we react to situations or obstacles.

A major key seems to be what Paul said to the Christians in Colossus. He wrote, “Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things. For you died, and your life is now hidden with Christ in God. When Christ, who is your life, appears, then you also will appear with him in glory” (Colossians 3:1-4).

Leave a Reply

