In God’s Hands

This post diverges from the seminary/scholarship thread. I will get back to that topic in the near future. I was struck by this thought from Sacred Space (www.sacredspace.ie).

You remember that Jesus once took a little child, whom the apostles were shooing away, and told them: Unless you become like little children, you will not enter the kingdom of heaven. The fact is, at the end, we do become like little children. We stop achieving, lose our driving license, and depend more and more on others to do things for us. Fr Pedro Arrupe, the last general of the Jesuits, at the end of his life was felled by a stroke, which crippled and silenced him. He could neither walk nor talk, though he could still write. He sent this message to the Jesuits who gathered to elect his successor: More than ever, I find myself in the hands of God. This is what I have wanted all my life, from my youth. And this is still the one thing I want. But now there is a difference:  the initiative is entirely with God. It is indeed a profound spiritual experience to know and feel myself so totally in his hands.”

 The above story led me to write the following praise poem.

In God’s Hands  

In Your Hands Lord, I am found.

In Your Hands Lord, I am free.

In Your Hands Lord, there is life.

I can be who You have called me to be.

 

In Your Hands Lord, I am safe.

In Your Hands Lord, You cover me.

In Your Hands Lord, there is rest.

I can be who You have called me to be.

 

In Your Hands Lord, I am loved.

In Your Hands Lord, Your Words comfort me.

In Your Hands Lord, I am Your child.

I can be who You have called me to be.

 

In Your Hands Lord, I am fashioned.

In Your Hands Lord, You perfect me.

In Your Hands Lord, I have hope.

That I can be who You have called me to be.

Leave a Reply

