None of the Above (Part 1)

I have a big problem when it comes to the next U.S. presidential election. I can’t seem to find a candidate that I can vote for. As I have become older, I find myself leaning more to the left than the right, which I understand seems to go against what happens to most people. But I still hold firmly on a few key issues that limit my ability to vote for most Democratic candidates.

For starters, I am staunchly pro-life. I believe that abortion is America’s holocaust. Since I believe that abortion after conception is taking a life, the only legitimate reason that I can see for an abortion is when the life of the mother is at stake if the baby is born. In such instances, you are trading a life for a life. This decision should be made by the woman who is carrying the child. But let’s be honest. Most abortions are not made for this reason.

Most abortions occur because the parents decide to abdicate their responsibility, and the government allows this to happen. We care about our own lives too much to sacrifice for others. That isn’t just an American problem. It is a human condition that Jesus came to fix.

Please don’t get me wrong. This is not an attack on women who are pregnant outside of marriage and face the daunting task of raising a child by themselves. First, men need to step up and take responsibility. Second, the Church needs to serve and encourage these woman instead of judge them. So we can all do a better job when it comes to abortion and “unwanted” children.

I thank God for ministries like Pregnancy Resource Center of Metro Richmond (http://www.pregnant-richmond-va.org/index.htm) that do a good job providing direction for distressed women. But at the end of the line, I believe that we have to speak up for those who cannot defend themselves.

Honoring life is a core belief for Christians because all humans are made in God’s image. If someone does not hold this value, I have a hard time seeing how I could trust them to make right decisions when it comes to the moral implications of government decisions. As a result, I cannot in good conscience vote for someone who is pro-choice. That cuts out most Democrats even if I do agree with them on other issues.

For the above reason, I cannot vote for Rudy Giuliani even though he says that he is a strict constructionist who would only appoint conservatives to the courts.

…TBC

Leave a Reply

