Blessed Assurance

Kevin Bruchert, a good friend and brother in Christ, played tonight a new arrangement the old hymn “Blessed Assurance.” It blessed my socks off. I had forgotten how much I like that song. It was written by Fanny Crosby, who was a blind hymn writer in the 1800s.

Even though the words were written 1873. They still ring true today. Sometimes we get so worked up over modern versus classical worship music when it is all good if done for God’s glory.

Stop and consider these words.

This is my story; this is my song. Praising my Savior all the day long. This is my story; this is my song. Praising my Savior all the day long.

Perfect submission. All is at rest. I in my Savior am happy and blessed. Watching and waiting, looking above. Filled with His goodness. Lost in His love.

Some people may think I am a bit crazy for carrying around an old Salvation Army Song Book when I go to worship services. But I find something deep in those lyrics. It is cool to know that I am part of a faith with a long tradition of honest God seekers. Hymns connect me to the ancient paths and deep truths. Many of the older songs are more rooted in Scripture and a God-focused worldview than some of the more modern music. Don’t get me wrong. I find many modern worship songs to be straight from the throne room too. I guess I like both as long as God is lifted up.

Consider the implications of God’s story being our story. God gives us a new song to sing as we find the fullness of life in Him. When we are perfectly submitted to God, we find lasting peace and rest. This line spoke to my heart about reclaiming the Sabbath. The final line about being lost in His love is the ultimate goal of a believer. The more of Jesus we find, the more we become like Him.

Thanks Fanny Crosby for touching me life tonight even though you are dead. This just testifies to the power of living for future generations and not just the moment.

Leave a Reply

