Satellite Messengers

My spiritual mentor likes to remind me that God can speak through just about anything including the mouth of a donkey. See the story of Balaam in the Hebrew Scriptures.

I don’t know if this reference is meant as an encouragement or if my mentor is trying to say that we can all be an ass sometimes. Maybe both.

I have learned that God can use anything to get out His message and bring His rule to the earth. He even uses half-hearted, misguided efforts of Western Christians to impact the unsuspecting with the truth of the Christian Gospel. I saw this while in Morocco last summer.

While walking through Casablanca, I noticed the satellite dishes strung across the tops of almost all the buildings and housing complexes in the city. Our guide and fellow humanitarian worker told us that Moroccans love to get European broadcasting on TVs. We even saw satellite dishes in some of the slum areas. A lot of the program is downright evil and smut.

Our friend also said that God has used the TV to bring the Gospel to the country. He recounted several stories of people he personally knew who had been saved and accepted Christ by watching religious television. Some of these people stumbled upon the message by accident and where gripped by its truth.

Evidently, American televangelists had made a difference by piping in Christian teaching through satellite broadcasts. This challenged my longstanding bias against TV preachers.

I always snicker when I think of most televangelists. I don’t think much of many of these preachers except someone like Billy Graham. I know of a number of Americans who react negatively to Christians because of TV evangelists. These people saw things on TV that made them get the wrong idea about God. But the Holy Spirit has used televangelists in Morocco, which is closed off to active missions work to native citizens.

The Spirit spoke to me that day and impressed this thought onto my conscience, “Don’t be so quick to judge. I am working through imperfect vessels, just like you. The message is powerful  and perfect despite the falliblity of the messengers.”

I felt humbled by these satellite messengers who had been there long before I arrived and would remain after I left for home. God truly does work in mysterious ways. He even uses people that I think give Him a bad name. I am sure there are some people who might think the same thing of me.

My lesson that day was that God can truly use a donkey or satellite TV as His messengers.

Leave a Reply

