Weeds

My lawn is a perfect picture of neglect. It is a not so beautiful patchwork of weeds, wild onions, grabgrass, and wild plants. It didn’t get this way overnight. It took years of neglect. The lawn guy said, “You don’t have much grass for me to work with. We are going to have to kill or get rid of everthing and start completely over.”

I used to think that I was OK with an uggly lawn. Afterall, I am busy doing more important things like working, ministering, going to school, mentoring students, etc. Who has time to spend worshipping the great green god of a nicely maniquered lawn? But I have started to realize that I am no different than any other guy.

When faced with the results of my decision, I cannot stand it. I don’t want a lawn like the brochure. I just want something that is not considered a public eye sore. I don’t want to have to apologize to my neighbors every time they look past me to the horrible mess destroying their property value. It isn’t a good witness. That is what seems to hurt the most. So I am going to do something about it. Unfortunately, it is almost useless to try to do anything until August. This summer I will have to take my lumps like a man and accept that I may have the uggliest lawn on the block.

I couldn’t stop thinking about the spiritual lessons in my lawn experience. Sin is a lot like weeds. It only takes a few to start chocking out the life of the real grass (anything that is good). Then, in a few years we wake up and suddenly notice that our life is full of sin with little left that appears good at all. We only notice it suddenly although the process has been working steadily for years. An expert (a pastor) comes and tells us what we already know, we need a completely renovated lawn (life). He suggests Jesus Christ as the answer to kill the weeds and to produce growth of lush, green grace (the best life possible). And unlike my lawn, I don’t have have to pay the price for the renovation. Jesus did that on the cross.

I was reminded of this Scripture, which compares the glory of man and the Word of God.

Isaiah 40:6-8 (NIV)
A voice says, “Cry out.” And I said, “What shall I cry?” “All men are like grass, and all their glory is like the flowers of the field. The grass withers and the flowers fall,  because the breath of the LORD blows on them. Surely the people are grass. The grass withers and the flowers fall, but the word of our God stands forever.”

 

Leave a Reply

