Struggling to Understand the Present Reality of God’s Grace

Tonight The Stars Speak by The Glorious Unseen

Tonight the stars speak of your infinite love
And it serves to remind me
That what I have means nothing at all
Compared to your glory, Oh lord

How long till your voice speaks clearly?
How long till your arms envelope me?
I cry be my strength when I am weak
Oh Lord have mercy on me please

My spirit is willing but my flesh is so weak
I cry in your arms now
God grant me the strength to rest in you
I lift my hands and cry

http://www.myspace.com/thegloriousunseen

The above is a song of yearning. It captures the heart cry of a sinner who is coming to grips with  the reality of his or her brokenness. It reminds us that we have to look to a power beyond ourselves. I had the pleasure of attending a worship service tonight where the Glorious Unseen played this song.

It really seemed to capture the depth of my sense of isolation from God. At times, I feel so far away even though I know that God is closer than I can ever imagine. At times, it feels like I have to beg God for love and mercy when He has already given me everything I need in Christ.

The Holy Spirit spoke to me while singing this song tonight. He said, “You don’t need to beg for my mercy. I have already provided it to you. All you need to do is walk in what I have placed before you. Get up and get going in the reality that I died to secure.”

This was swift kick in the gut. I started to realize that I struggle to believe the basics of the Christian Gospel. Although I know it  to be true, I seem to forget the impractical reality of God’s grace in my live. It seems too good to be true. And it is. That is what makes the Gospel the greatest reality in human history. That is why it is the source of all hope. I am reminded of the lyrics from this other Glorious Unseen song.

Forever Holy
God, You stand when all has fallen
You embrace the long forgotten
I guess it’s just hard to believe
The Grace You’ve poured out on me
I guess I’m just starting to see
How You’re working in me

This is what makes my head spin
You’re forever Holy
God of all creation
Pour Your life into me
This is so overwhelming
You’re forever Holy
God of my Salvation
Clothe me in Your Glory

Leave a Reply

