The Struggle

While driving home from a recent retreat, I listened to a sermon by Paris Reidhead about the human condition and sin’s effect on us all. Paris is one of my favorite preachers. He said a few tough things.

Here is my favorite comment from his sermon.

“Jesus didn’t die to help me do what I ought. He died to do what I am powerless to do because he is everything that I am not.” – Paris Reidhead, old revival preacher

The basic point is that if all we need is a little help than we are mostly good and don’t really need a Savior. Jesus came to do more than give us a boost. He came to offer us His life that we can live in Him. Consider this Scripture.

Galatians 2:20 (New International Version) – “I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”

We need more than a helping hand. We need to be transformed and made into a new creation. We need to be born again. And Jesus is the One who can do what we are powerless to do. That is freedom. And that is life.

Leave a Reply

