Heaven?

“Heaven is not a place where I finally get a chance to meet God. It is a place where the curse is lifted.”– Chaille’s anonymous friend

Ask anyone and you’ll get a variety of opinions about their concept of heaven. Some people don’t believe in life after death. Others think that heaven is only for good people. Some think that heaven will be a paradise beyond measure. Many probably think it will be boring – a place where you lie around and play a harp for eternity.

There is a lot that Scripture doesn’t tell us about heaven. But one thing is for sure – we don’t have to wait until heaven to experience God in a deeply personal way.  The Apostle Paul wrote that God put His Spirit in people as a deposit guaranteeing what is to come. 

If Christians have the Holy Spirit living in them, why do so many act as if God is far away? That is the point that my friend was making. While we don’t see God face-to-face in a physical sense in this life, we can be close to Him in this life.

Instead of waiting until heaven for this dynamic relationship with God, we should seek to experience it now.

4 responses to “Heaven?

  1. Re: Scriptures doesn’t tell us much about heaven.

    Your wrong about that. Scriptures does tell much about heaven. The problem is , it doesn’t shew you.
    Or your just lazy in reading the “scriptures”. By the way, it is not scripture anymore, but printed .

    Re:” If Christians have The Holy Spirit living in them”.
    Not all so called Christians have the Holy Spirit living in them. 8O% (more or less)of the so called Christians in the world, have no Holy Spirit living in them. Some of them are called Christian because of confusion. Some are just pretending to be Christians. So don’t wonder about their acts as if God is far away.

    Cheer Up! There are still Christians that have the Holy Spirit in them. You will know them by their deeds. And who know, maybe someday you will encounter some of them, and maybe they will shew you THE WAY ( The Old Path), and just maybe, you will become one of them. THEN , you will come to understand.

    IF GOD’S WILL, … Just maybe. So don’t lost Hope.

  2. Dear Dove124,

    I believe that you misunderstood my post. I do have the Holy Spirit living in me and know many believers who follow “The Old Path.”

    My post was simply pointing out that many times in this life Christians act as if they are waiting for the next life to encounter God. Jesus called us to usher in the Kingdom of Heaven here and now.

    I have slightly changed the initial post to reflect this change. While I understand that Scripture does provide some details about heaven, there is a lot we don’t know.

    I would like for you to know that your post came across to me as very condescending and presumptive. I assume as a Christian led by the Holy Spirit that was not your intention.

    Godspeed,
    Chaille

  3. Chaille,
    I have not misunderstood your post. I think that it is you who does not understand what you wrote.

    You said you do have a Holy Spirit living in you. If it is true that you have it, the Holy Spirit, why is it that you don’t believe when I say that 8O% more or less, of those so called Christians around the world, have no Holy Spirit in them? This led me to doubt to what you say that you have a Holy Spirit in you. So now, I have to examine your Holy Spirit , if really you have one.
    Question: 1. Who are this people, that God put His Spirit? 2. What is that Spirit?
    Your answer must be back up by verses in the bible. If you can’t answer this, then I can tell you point blank that you don’t have a Holy Spirit in you. And I will just consider you as one of those so called “confused Christians”.

    I want you also to know that my post is not condescending and presumptive. I understand what I am posting.

    Good luck in your answers.

    • Dear Dove124,

      Wow. I don’t even know where to begin. Here are my replies.
      1.) The Holy Spirit is not an it. Jesus called the Holy Spirit a He (See John 14:17). According to fairly established Christian doctrine, the Holy Spirit is one person of the three person Godhead. See the Nicene Creed, 2,000 years of church history, etc.
      2.) Jesus did say that there will be many who will cry to me Lord, Lord on that day and will be turned away because He never knew them (Matthew 7:22-24, Matthew 15:41). The Apostle Paul warned about the dangers of resisting the Holy Spirit and falling away from the true faith (see various NT epistles). But I am not aware of any place in the Bible where it says that 80% of professed Christians are not saved from wrath and are not filled with the Holy Spirit. Those are rather presumptive figures. 1 Timothy 4:1 says, “Now the Spirit speaketh expressly, that in the latter times some shall depart from the faith, giving heed to seducing spirits, and doctrines of devils.” But this Scripture verse is far from your assertion that 80% of professed Christians are indeed not Christians.
      3.) 2 Timothy 4:1 and Revelation 20:12 are clear that God will judge humanity. Thus, I don’t really have to justify myself to you. Unless Dove 124 is the Internet handle for God. Actually, I will never be justified based on my works any way. Scripture is clear that we are saved by grace through faith in Jesus not by works lest anyone should boast (Ephesians 2:8).
      4.) Regarding your questions. #1 – The Holy Spirit lives in the hearts of all true Christians. This is hard to clearly define because only God and each person know if that person has confessed Jesus as Savior and Lord. Scriptures that cover this aspect of the Gospel (indwelling of the Holy Spirit) include: Romans 8:4-13, John 14:17, 1 Corinthians 3:16, Ephesians 2:22, and 1 John 3:24.
      5.) Regarding question #2. The Spirit that Christ has placed in all true Christians is the Spirit of adoption into His family. That Spirit causes us to cry out Abba Father to God. This Spirit leads us to a deep, personal relationship with God. See Galatians 4:6.
      6.) Lastly, we must be careful judging others. Jesus said, “Do not judge, and you will not be judged. Do not condemn, and you will not be condemned. Forgive, and you will be forgiven. Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.” (Luke 6:36-38 and Matthew 7:1-3)

      I believe in this passage Jesus is warning about judging others. Sure, we have to discern right and wrong. We should never call good evil or evil good. At the same time, we must take a tone that will allow others to hear the Gospel. Coming right out and challenging me the way you did doesn’t seem to me to follow what Jesus said in this passage of Scripture. I am hoping that your intention is truly to convey the joy of knowing Christ and that you have deep concern for me.

      If that is indeed the case, I would be more than happy to continue this discussion in private. You can email me at chaille@organicfaith.com

      Otherwise, I don’t really want to get into a long public debate about my salvation. Thanks for your interaction.

      Godspeed,
      Chaille

Leave a Reply

