Good Friday

Abandoned. Abused. Mocked.  Beaten beyond recognition. Hung on a tree as a criminal.

The thought of Jesus’ scourging and crucifixion is something that I can’t really comprehend. Even after having just watched The Passion of the Christ, I don’t think that I can begin to understand the agony that he went through. It is hard to watch. I don’t have any idea what it must have felt like. I have never experienced that level of pain, sacrifice or betrayal. As the religous leaders and crowds mocked Jesus, He called for their forgiveness. At any moment, He could have commanded angels to dispatch those who opposed Him. But He suffered and died. Jesus looked down from the cross and through time He saw me.

I am reminded of what a little girl asked one day when she watched an Easter passion play at a church. The girl asked her mom with tears in her eyes, “Why are they being so mean to Jesus?” That question seems like the right one. We can’t seem to understand what would drive a crowd to be so cruel. We don’t know why it has to be so bloody. How could something good come out of something so horrific?

That is the reality of Easter Sunday. Jesus had to endure the cross so that we don’t have to die for our sins. I know it seems cruel that God The Father would send His Son on such a mission. I don’t understand it. I wouldn’t ask my child to suffer for another like Jesus did for me. It is at the cross where we see love beyond measure, a trust that I cannot comprehend.

Jesus death is the ultimate reversal where a bloody scene leads to hope, eternal life and freedom for those held captive to sin. There is no better story. There is no reality that is more true. It is God’s story where He redeems mankind. Is it your story too?

Leave a Reply

