Twitter Me This

Okay, I have joined the world of Twitter. I started this past weekend. To be honest, the entire blog, Facebook, Twitter phenomenon seems a big Narcissistic to me. Why do so many people care what others are doing?

Facebook is not a great way to really stay connected with close friends. It is a way to stay loosely connected with people that you care about but are not an active part of your regular life.  I would rather talk on the phone or meet face-to-face than connect online. Maybe I am old school.

I was not going to open a Twitter account until a friend explained why he used it. He basically said that Twitter is like Facebook without all the extra stuff that gets in the way like contests, polls, being poked or bitten by others, etc. All the little add-ons are killing Facebook. I don’t think that I have ever responded to one of those things.

Facebook has been kind of neat to re-connect with old friends from school or college. But it shouldn’t take up most of your life. Some people spend way too much time on this stuff.

My blog is nothing more than free therapy. I write so that my head doesn’t explode. If it benefits other people, that’s just the cherry on top.

Twitter does make sense from the perspective that it keeps comments short. My main problem is that brevity has never been a strong suit of mine.

I will be posting some random status updates as well as a daily Scripture verse and related questions on Twitter. These are questions that I am asking myself. My goal is to do this every day for 365 days. There may be some days where I don’t have a decent Internet connection or fail to post for some reason. But my plan is to be as faithful as possible.

What you won’t get from me is Twitter updates on everything in my life. I won’t be telling you what I had for breakfast unless it was something really unusual like fire ants and goat cheese. I won’t be making stupid comments about TV shows.

My desire is to post Twitter messages that add something to the lives of those who read it: either a quick update, a profound thought, question or Scripture verse.

You can follow me on Twitter at http://twitter.com/organicfaith1

Leave a Reply

