Hope

My hope is built on nothing less than…

  • Political leaders doing the right thing.
  • Government supplying society with justice, equality and basic community services.
  • The success of my political ideology.
  • My job supplying my needs.
  • My career and personal accomplishments.
  • A strong U.S. economy.
  • My perfect health.
  • The realization of the American dream.
  • Church connecting me with people who will always be there for me.
  • Technology solving my problems and keeping me entertained.
  • My intelligence and ability to find my own way out of problems.
  • My spouse, children and family.
  • Good friends.
  • My 401K and investments.
  • Safety and security of living in a free country 
  • The U.S. Constitution and legal system.
  • The military might of the United States.
  • Global peacekeepers from the UN.
  • My good works to help others and humanitarian efforts.
  • My trust in the goodness of my fellow man. 
  • My resume, credentials and life experiences.
  • My college degree and education.
  • American ingenuity and grit.
  • My religious knowledge.
  • Me, myself and I.

It can be easy to place our hope in all of the above. But those things will fail us. Edward Mote wrote the hymn titled My Hope is Built. It points to the only real source of hope in the world. Mote wrote, “My hope is built on nothing less than Jesus’ blood and righteousness. I dare not trust the sweetest frame, but wholly lean on Jesus’ name. On Christ the solid rock I stand, all other ground is sinking sand.”

No matter how you feel about the recent healthcare vote or the current course of our country, all Christians must know that the source of our hope is not in the United States of America or even our own personal abilities. Our hope is in Jesus. Our hope is not in the economy or government solutions. Our hope is in the only solid rock. And His name is Jesus.

Leave a Reply

