Indignant – Praying the Emotions of Jesus Day 2

Mark 1:40-41 (NIV)
A man with leprosy came to him and begged him on his knees, “If you are willing, you can make me clean.” Jesus was indignant.* He reached out his hand and touched the man. “I am willing,” he said. “Be clean!”
Footnote: * Many manuscripts render “Jesus was filled with compassion.”

Prayer
Jesus, You are so willing to do more than we can think or imagine. There is no limit to Your love for Your people. Though we doubt and frequently approach You only at our darkest hour, You are faithful. There is nothing beyond Your ability or grasp.

Like a sheep to the slaughter, we wrestle with things from which You desire to deliver us. You desire for Your people to approach Your throne boldly because You are the new and living way. But my sin and the pressure of peering eyes causes me to be distant. You offer a healing touch, but my doubts get in the way. May I believe for what You so desire to give to Your beloved.

You burn with such zeal for Your people that our distance leads You to anger. You become indignant at my request because it is mixed with doubt, fear and self loathing. I am unclean, unclean. Yet, You say, “I have made you clean, clean, clean!”

Lord, forgive me for my doubt. Free me to receive Your grace. And provoke me to ask for that which I know I do not deserve. May I realize that You are truly good. May I discover in my heart that Your generosity and compassion is beyond measure. Amen!

One response to “Indignant – Praying the Emotions of Jesus Day 2

  1. The Greek word used in Mark 1:41 is translated most often as “moved with pity,” “moved with compassion,” or “moved with sympathy.” “Indignant” might be imported from another healing episode, but is an iffy translation here.

Leave a Reply

